The Nintendo Switch is a console aimed at the whole family and therefore allows up to 8 (eight) people to create user accounts on the same console. However, one of them may no longer have access and must be removed. Next, you will learn how to delete a Nintendo Switch account.

Nintendo Switch and user accounts

Nintendo Switch supports up to 8 user accounts per console, allowing multiple members of the same family to use it, without having to share the same profile.

At the same time, a user account can be linked to more than one Switch, but the same account cannot run the same game on more than one console at the same time.

How to delete a Nintendo Switch account

The option to delete a Nintendo Switch account is usually assigned to the user who has the main (main) account on the console. If you are this user, do the following:

  1. Access the Nintendo Switch option “System Configuration” (“System Configuration”);
  2. Scroll down to the “User” option and select the user account you want to delete;
  3. Scroll down to the “Delete User” option and confirm;
  4. If the security configuration is active, the switch can request the security PIN number. Enter and confirm;
  5. Check the “Delete” page and select “Next” (“Next”);
  6. Select the option “Delete this user” (“Delete this user”) and confirm.

And ready.

How to unlink a Nintendo Account

In some cases, a user account may be linked to a Nintendo Account, in which case the account cannot be deleted immediately. To do this, you must first unlink the account, but the process is very similar:

  1. Access the option “System Configuration” (“System Configuration”);
  2. Scroll down to the “User” option and select the user account you want to delete;
  3. Scroll down to the option “Unlink Nintendo Account” (“Unlink Nintendo Account”) and confirm;
  4. If the security configuration is active, the switch can request the security PIN number. Enter and confirm;
  5. Select “Continue” (“Continue”) and then “Unlink” (“Unlink”);
  6. The Nintendo Account will be unlinked from the User Account.

Once the Nintendo Switch user account is no longer linked to a Nintendo Account, proceed with the profile deletion process as usual.

Finally, remember that it is not possible to delete a Nintendo Switch account if it is the only user account on the console.